Category Archives: OSX

Packt celebrating International Day Against DRM

DRM-Landing-Page-Banner

TODAY Packt Publishing is offering all its DRM-free content at $10… All 2000+ eBooks and Videos at www.packtpub.com.

Get an inexpensive and DRM FREE fix for all your tech urges in virtualization, end-user computing, Dig Data, eCommerce, Cloud computing, programming, elearning systems (including Moodle!), automation, operating systems, systems and performance monitoring, game development, Rasberry Pi, networking, advanced security, etc etc. SO MANY!!!

Here’s a short link to share: http://bit.ly/1q6bpha

 

 

 

FacebookTwitterGoogle+LinkedInPinterestTumblrEvernoteWordPressShare

Apple worse than Microsoft regarding browser policy

Many thanks to the Multi-Safari project for working allowing one to use Safari 3 on a system that had been upgraded to Safari 4.

For some reason, Apple chose to not let one uninstall Safari 4 once his system has been upgraded to it. Removing Safari 4 with AppZapper still would not allow me to reinstall Safari 3. Had it not been for Multi-Safari, I’d still be having my issues.

So why did Apple choose such a Microsoft-like approach to the browser? I should be able to uninstall the OS-included browser firstly, and secondly, I should be able to then reinstall the prior version of the same browser.

Clearing incorrect saved form field entries in Entourage or Firefox

Someone called me today with an all too common occurence that needed remedy: He entered his password mistakenly in the login name field of a webform. While the easy route would be to clear private data (doing a bulk erase), that’s like killing a cockroach with a bazooka. When you find yourselves in a similar situation, be it a mispelled streetname, login, address or whatever, there is a very simple (and keyboard driven) way to fix this problem.

To remove individual values from saved formed data within Firefox and Entourage (and probably other applications that I seem to not have had the need to test), perform the following, very simple procedure.

1. Put your cursor in the field on the form in which your mistaken entry lies.
2. Hit down arrow key (start typing the incorrect entry) and then hit the down arrow key until the incorrect entry is selected.
3. Press SHIFT + DEL to delete the offending entry.

(Note: This trick doesn’t seem to work in Apple’s Safari browser so if anyone can help document that for me I’d appreciate it.)

VMware Fusion Machines Locked after Clone Recovery

I had been without my MacBook Pro while it was in repair for a power-related issue. Prior to my handing over my system to Apple, I secure wiped the entire disk but some Vaulted users for demonstrating the system malfunctions.

Upon my first system restore, I was unable to run any of my machines as the reported “File locked” in the Virtual Machine list as their state.

The machine packages themselves were not locked at a file system level; however, upon exposing the package contents of each Virtual Machine, there existed a series of .lck files. So, knowing I had a good backup still of course, I proceeded to delete the least innocuous and most likely candidate file first: .vmx.lck.

Presto! Once that file was removed, I reloaded Fusion and confirmed the status had changed to “Powered off” which was its true status. I had a hunch that the machine still would not work though as there were several lock files remaining. Where had they come from? Hadn’t I powered the machines off prior to the last cloning? Then it hit me… I test all my clones by booting directly to them though I don’t use the disks once I confirm they are operational – except once when I launched my XP virtual machine to get access to files I left within it. While this could be the reason for one series of lock files, how could that explain that my Vista, 2008, Ubuntu, RedHat, CentOS, Celerra, and so on were all in “File Locked” state when I know those systems hadn ‘t been accessed subsequent to the clone operation and, therefore, were in a clean state?

For now, I decided to delete all the lock files and confirm each machine’s health. Though I chose to relaunch Fusion for good measure, simply double-clicking the package, using “File | Open…” or “File | Open Recent” would all have worked.

What I need to schedule for a lab now is to test if recovering from a clone is related to the creation of the lock files. Until then, case closed… happy VMing again. :-)